Bunting and being busy!

Hello all πŸ™‚

I’ve decided to do another guide to keep you all busy πŸ™‚ this week it’s bunting!

I made a set of this for my grandma’s birthday and she was very pleased with it. This isn’t too hard to make, you just need time and patience, especially if you’re new to sewing πŸ™‚

image

You will need:
Sewing Machine
As many different types of pretty fabric (or just one type, it’s completely up to you!)
Threads
Fabric Scissors
Tape Measure
Cardboard
Pins
A long piece of ribbon, or fabric

First things first, create yourself a template out of cardboard. I chose to create an isosceles triangle shape so that my flags looked more like flags, rather than triangle blocks. I used a scrap bit of paper for this, but I’d advise cardboard so you don’t cut your fabric wrong πŸ™‚

image

Next lay your template on the fabric, pin it and began to cut out the shapes. I double sided my bunting but you can do single flags. Again, it’s completely up to you how many you cut out, I was working to a specific number to fit my grandma’s dresser πŸ™‚

image

Then you need to start sewing. Turn your fabric ‘pretty’ side in, and just start at the ‘top’ point of the triangle then work your way down both of the long sides. Remember to leave a 1cm gap round your fabric. Leave the Base of your triangle open because we’ll make this tidy in a later stage πŸ™‚

image

Once you’ve sewed all your flags together, it’s time to roll them right-way-out! You should have nice neat edges and be ready to now attach it all together!

image

Because I didn’t have any ribbon, after using it at easter, I chose to cut strips of fabric to make… A ribbon. Begin to sew these together after folding them in on themselves but with the tatty base of your triangle inside, and pinning! Consult the images below if that’s as confusing as it sounds to me!

image

image

Excuse the awful flash. So effectively you’re tucking all the ugly raw fabrics inside so it’s secret. After you’ve done that just sew on top of this ribbon to seal it all in and you’re done!

image

I then folded it neatly and kept it safe till my grandma’s birthday πŸ™‚ you could make any type of bunting, any size and any theme! Although it’s a little fiddly at least it looks lovely afterward πŸ™‚ I hope you all have enjoyed this guide and if you get around to making any then I’d love to see it!

Take care and I shall speak to you all soon!

Lana x

Leave a Reply

